Labradoodle Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a PhD student who's taking a semester off. The transition to working has been difficult for both me, as a dog-owner, and for Milo, as a dog who's accustomed to having me around most of the time while I wrote my dissertation from home. Now, I'm working odd hours (early in the morning, sometimes late at night), so Milo's off his schedule. I'm also working too long to leave him at home by himself, so I've been day-caring him a lot. He's getting sick often - twice in the past two weeks - from what my vet assumes are gastrointestinal bugs he picks up from day-care. Or from the stress of being off-schedule and away from home (I even had to overnight him at our local PetSmart Pets Hotel this week for the first time, poor guy). I make sure he's getting all the exercise he needs, but he's alone and in daycare too much.

My question is: what do those of you who work (which I imagine is the majority of doodle owners) do in terms of dog care? I can't afford a dog walker, but I hate to take Milo back to day care if he's getting sick because of it. Help! I'm a single woman away from home and friends for school, so I don't have anyone to help me with this and I'm starting to feel like I'm doing Milo a disservice here. Am I?

·
Registered
576 Posts
I can't imagine that a once a day dog walker is any more $ than daycare.
I know in my area I can get a dog walker/pet sitter for about the same as a day at daycare without the vet bills.
I'd definately look into it. Maybe you could even run an ad for a teen-ager to come let him out, water him, etc. in the middle of the day. Just a few ideas.

·
Banned
5,918 Posts