Labradoodle Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
560 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm new to crating and only do it for short periods when we leave the house. So far I've never put water in the crate. But as Bailey gets older I think there may be times when he is crated for 4 hours or more if we go out or other things. Do you put a waterbowl in the crate with them or how long would you let them go without water? If you do put a bowl in there, do they tend to knock it over? Or, if they are bored, would then tend to drink more water and they increase the chance of peeing in the crate?

·
Registered
6,192 Posts
The Labradoodle book says to put both food & water in the crate. I have never had either in the crate with any of my other dogs.........so I don't think I'll do that this time either.
I can't see how they wouldn't knock it over..........and it would increase their peeing........I don't think 4 hours is too long...........hmmmmmmm.........it'll be interesting to see what others say.

·
Registered
8,336 Posts
I never put water in his crate when he was younger.
I would tire him out and then give him water and then take him
out to do his business and then crate him for 4 hours.
I tried the water in the crate once but he just knocked it all over the place
you can get the bottles like you use for hamsters to avoid the spillage
but I just found giving him some water before and then he was fine.

·
Registered
2,120 Posts
We use the bottles for Tyke - her breeder always did, to keep the puppies from splashing water all over the place. She actually prefers it now, and looks like she's not really sure how to handle water in a bowl if you give it to her! When I have to leave her, I just hang one on the side of her crate.

·
Registered
2,740 Posts
lindamarie said:
The Labradoodle book says to put both food & water in the crate. I have never had either in the crate with any of my other dogs.........so I don't think I'll do that this time either.