Labradoodle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I am new to this site. I am a 30 year old unmarried guy. I am only considering dogs that shed minimally and that are hypo-allergenic. I have read a lot about goldendoodles as well as labradoodles. Which dog would you say I should get being that I am a young guy? I like to run and would love to have a dog that would go running and such with me. Is a "doodle" an appropriate dog for someone like me?

Thanks!
MJ

·
Registered
8,619 Posts
The BEST dog for you!! You won't go wrong Goldendoodle or Labradoodle! They're energetic, loving, energetic, smart, energetic, cute as a button, energetic, love to run and play.....did I say energetic?? :wink: Honestly, you can't go wrong with a doodle!! :lol:

·
Registered
94 Posts
Hi MJ,

I'm a labradoodle-owner-in-waiting. My puppy is due to come home with me mid-January, so I have some book-smarts, but no experience with doodles. All of the research I've done points to a labradoodle or goldendoodle being a great choice. If you're looking for a dog that is non-shedding, you'll probably want an f1b or a multi-gen.

Also, if you want to take the pup running. Please do a little research on that. I've read that it can be detrimental to the pup's physical development to take it on serious runs before it's 12 or 18 months. I'm a bit sketchy on the data, so I'll see if I can find some links or sources for you that will shed light on this aspect.

I'm new to the forum also! Welcome! You'll find everyone here is friendly and helpful.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I agree...I have been browsing through this site for about 2 weeks now and find that everyone is on here to help others out! You are all passionate about your dog and the labradoodle!!

I do prefer the look of the F1 over the F1B. I would prefer a straighter coat and more Lab looking than poodle.

G

·
Hey MJ: