Labradoodle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
483 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here's a really great letter from a veterinarian in San Diego which sheds some light on why vets and the CVMA seem to have a disconnect between being for or against AB1634. The doctor writes a brilliant letter.

June 1, 2007

Sharon Vanderlip, D.V.M.
Lakeside, California 92040
California License #7846

To The Esteemed California Assemblymembers:

I am a veterinarian licensed to practice in California and I vehemently oppose AB1634 as amended May 31, 2007. California veterinarians overwhelmingly oppose AB1634. Unfortunately, the California Veterinary Medical Association (CVMA) did not poll its membership or non-CVMA member veterinarians before deciding to sponsor AB1634.

For 28 years I have worked in reproductive medicine. I have worked extensively with responsible dog breeders and I have also worked in a very large California animal shelter. I have performed thousands of spays and neuters during my professional career, including early spays/neuters. I am convinced that AB1634 is a disastrous bill that will not solve a single problem, but will definitely create many more. This letter explains some reasons how and why AB1634 WILL SIGNIFICANTLY INCREASE THE NUMBERS OF ANIMALS IMPOUNDED, ABANDONED, AND EUTHANIZED EVERY YEAR.

Veterinary medical decisions, including when/if to spay/neuter an animal, should be made by veterinarians and the pets’ owners, not by politicians. I am a proponent of spay/neuter, but on a medical case by case basis, when the time is right for each individual animal patient.