Labradoodle Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,
We have had our labradoodle, Kayla, for almost two weeks, and she is fourteen weeks old. We got her with the intention of having her come to work with me as a therapy dog - I work as a chaplain in a nursing home - but we have to wait until she is potty trained for her to come regularly. We are trying to figure out how long we can/should put her in the crate during the day and at night. We obviously want to be home and with her as much as possible, but when I wanted to go to bed early the other night, we both got worried about putting her "to bed" when she had only been out and with us for four hours (from 5 to 9). Is that enough interaction time for a puppy at this stage? How much interaction does she need? Whenever we're home she's always with us, and going out for "potty time" about every 15 minutes. My husband also comes home and lets her out and plays with her for about 15 minutes at lunchtime, and we leave the house around 8 am. I would appreciate any words of wisdom from all you other doodle owners out there! Thanks-
Christana

·
Registered
163 Posts
Hi there...
Sounds just like my schedule! I don't get as much time with Boone as I would like right now, but bills do have to be paid.
I work 8-4 monday to friday.
Generally the boyfriend is home with Boone during the day, but 2 days a week or so he is also gone 8-4. He's lucky he has a sales job and it's very flexible for us.
So Boone does spend sometimes 8 hrs in the crate. He just naps, and chews some of his rubber toys and is totally fine. When I get home, we play, he has a snack (not dinner, just a little something) we go outside, then about an hour later, I put him back in the crate so I can shower. Then he's out till 10 or 11. I don't like it, but he's out all day with us on weekends and some days with my boyfriend during the week.