Labradoodle Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

Since i confirmed the purchase of my labradoodle (i pick her up just after christmas!!!) i have been doing a whole lot of reading on how to look after and train (particularly crate train) a puppy. I haven't had a puppy since i was a kid so i'm pretty new to all this, but very keen to get off to a good start. However, as with most things, there is a lot of contradictory information out there.

I was hoping to get a few further opinions on crate training, and maybe confirm some practices. She will be 8 weeks when i pick her up.

1) Should i put padding (towels, pilliows, foam) in her crate or should i leave it bare? Some say that they need it to be comfortable (and obviously i would like her to be comfortable) but others say that it can encourage peeing in the crate and also encourage attacking washing hanging on the line when she grows up, as she gets used to chewing on towels etc. Is a hesion bag a compromise?

2) At night, when she is in her crate, should i get up half way through the night to take her to pee, or should i try to get her to go through to the morning? Some say that if she wakes up in the middle of the night crying, take her out to pee, but others say that this is only rewarding her for crying. What to do, what to do? :)

3) In the first few weeks (or maybe days) after she comes home, should the crate be in my bedroom so i can comfort her when she cries or should i put the crate somewhere else in the house so her crying is ignored?

All comments and advice are more than appreciated. I am so excited about my new little family member and i want the best for her, but there is so much information out there and most of it is contradictory!

Thanks in advance, from myself and Scout!

·
Registered
1,690 Posts