Labradoodle Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
560 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

Just have a question for you this morning. My F1 is 10 weeks old. So far he has a way fleece/wool coat and there is not a shedding hair to be seen. I know the risk of shedding is higher for an F1. I am wondering for those of you out there that have F1s, how many were non-shedders as puppies and then started shedding later on with their adult coat? We love our new babe and wouldn't change a thing, but just want to know what we might be in for in terms of shedding. Thanks!

·
Registered
159 Posts
Hi Lily!
My baby is also named Bailey : )
We got him when he was 16 weeks and he will be 7 months old on Halloween! He is an F1 and has a fleecy coat. He is a non shedder.
I am no expert by any means but I believe if your baby were going to shed, he would already be doing so. Does he lose any hair when you brush or bathe him?

Again - no expert advice here - just wanted to pop in and say hello!

G

·
No expert advise her either but Maya does not really shed. When I brush her (rarely cause she hates it) there is a little hair in the brush but I need to brush her several times before there is enough hair in the brush to get it out between the bristles. Maya is a North American Retriever so I am not sure if they go by generations or not.

·
Registered
248 Posts
Hi, Lily. My 18 month old F1, Uma, is a shedder, but it isn't nearly as bad as the other dogs I grew up with. When we got her (at 12 weeks) she hardly shed at all and the shedding increased once she blew her puppy coat. Again, it's not bad, but if I pick her up wearing a black shirt I'll definity have little blonde hairs all over it. I know my mom had to vaccum all the time with our Golden and it's not that way with Uma.

Good news is, although she's a shedder and has more of a "labby" coat, my sister-in-law who's allergic to dogs has no problem being around her.

·
Registered
141 Posts