Labradoodle Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
670 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sofie is almost 12 weeks old. I vacuumed and she flipped.. ran in my room.. and wouldnt come out until i carried her out.. she wouldnt eat food.. looks miserable and went to her kennel. Is there an easy way to approach the vacuuming thing? i dont want to have to put her outside when I vacuum forever. Is it a phase.. is there a way to get her used to it. I dont want her to get stressed out! Any advice would be appreciated! Mike

·
Registered
1,254 Posts
Hi Mike, the vaccuum is a very scarey thing, not only to puppies but to adult dogs as well. I would put Sofie in her crate where she feels safe whenever you run the vaccuum and after time, she will learn that it isn't going to harm her.

·
Registered
670 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks dixie- Im new to the puppy world.. I'm just sorry i caused her this stress! I will put her in her crate!

G

·
Our Patty (who is prone to being a "nervous nelly", easily startled & frightened) was really, really terrifed also. To help her get over it, we would leave the vacuum out (unplugged) near where we'd play with her. After a while she got comfortable being near it & while she was really engrossed in play with one of us, the other would turn it on for a few seconds, then a few minutes, etc so that she became desensitized to it & eventually didn't freak out anymore. She no longer reacts to it unless she is asleep & doesn't realize it's near her when we turn it on - she'll startle awake but doesn't run away or tremble anymore. Our doodle Odie just sleeps thru it all. It's important not to reinforce their fears by petting them or cuddling them when they are fearful - that gives them the signal that being afraid is good because they get extra love & attention. Just act like it's no big deal & the pup will learn from your confident leadership.
Good luck.

·
Registered
670 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·