Labradoodle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wanted to introduce myself. I live near Portland, Oregon and I'm getting my first labradoodle puppy around January 18 (pups were born Nov 19). My breeder hasn't matched me to a pup yet, but the pups are Australian multi-gen cream / apricots with fleece coats.

I haven't had a dog in about 14 years, but my family had German Shepherds when I was young and I had another German Shepard in my 20's.

So...I have some "dog experience" but I know I'll need refresher information. I've been reading "Before and After Getting Your Puppy" & "How to Teach a New Dog Old Tricks" by Ian Dunbar, "How to Raise a Puppy You can Live With" by Clarice Rutherford, and "Culture Clash" by Jean Donaldson.

Of course, since I've done all of this reading - I'm sure things will all go as perfectly planned!! (yes, I know - you can laugh at me now).

Wish me luck. I'll be reading and posting messages between now and mid January. Pictures will follow, as soon as I get my pup.

Lori

·
Registered
55 Posts
Welcome Lori!

Poking around this forum will help the time pass until you get your new best friend. Reading the books you mentioned will help too. When your pup arrives you will be so happy.

I read "Puppies for Dummies" by Sarah Hodgson. It was a little over my head, but I learned a lot! :lol: I haven't had a puppy in over 30 years and discovered several things I didn't know....like crate training. I had not heard of crates before reading Hodgson's book.

Did you ask for a male or female?

Dave

·
Registered
2,740 Posts
Welcome Lori!!!
Your going to so enjoy having a Doodle, they are soo very smart,
i have had 5 clients recommend Be the Pack Leader by Cesar Millian(the dog whisperer,national geo channel) i love cesar he is a awsome trainer and trains people to get in the mind set of a dog,
i have the book just havent had time to read it yet,,
congrads on the new puppy!!! cant wait to see pictures

·