Labradoodle Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OH
Posted: Wed May 31, 2006 12:01 pm Post subject: My itchy doodle...

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hi everyone!

This is my first time on the site and am hoping you can help...

I have a six month old F1b male named Onyx. He is my world! About a month ago, he started developing small bumps on his front leg and on one of his rear flanks. They look almost like skin tags and are very itchy. After taking him to the vet...several times...we were unable to find the cause. Since then, I've changed his diet and removed all of his raw hide treats.

The rash appears to be going away and his itching has dramatically decreased. In fact, it looks great! So, I'm assuming it was just a food allergy... It also appears that his coat may be changing although I was unaware that F1b's coats change...??

I guess I wanted to just double check with other doodle owners to see whether or not this could be something I should continue looking into medically or check to see if there were any other reasons as to why he might have developed a rash...

Any ideas??

Thanks so much!

Jamie

·
Registered
1,810 Posts
Hi Jamie and WELCOME! :D

An itchy condition is typically environmental, so the easiest thing to start with is food and then go from there. I have found CORN to be a culprit with the itchy ears my poodles get, and also some skin-scratching. It's funny how it doesn't bother our puppies but at or near 6mos old this can occur, so I would guess there's a maturation happening somewhere. <??> There are coat changes than happen between 6-12mos in f1b doodles as they shift from puppy to adult coats. Matting seems to take over at some point as the 2 coats try to co-exist, or a major shedding spell if your puppy has the shedding hormone.

I love the name Onyx! I'm glad he's clearing up, too.

What are you feeding your pup now?

·
Registered
13 Posts