Labradoodle Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
980 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Any other musicians out there? Dexter was wound for sound today, rough housing with his cat brother and tearing a path in the rug with doodle 500's. First Kevin sat down for his banjo lesson, and Dex grabbed his squeakiest toys and "played along" with him. Then it was time for my dulcimer lesson. I started playing "Amazing Grace" and he came over on his doggie bed beside me and sat and watched me for a long time, then drifted off to sleep.

It could have been coincidence because he was worn out, but I like to think he has good taste in music and is a cultured little guy.

What kind of music does your doodle like?

·
Registered
126 Posts
I havent played music for Charlie yet but I will try some since he is going to a kennel for a week - good idea

I did see an article of a woman who went into a field and played a harp in a fild on their ranch for wild wolves - just to see how they would respond they layed down and listend . It was amazing.

·
Registered
980 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You just reminded me of kennel training. The first two nights we had Dexter, of course he cried when kenneled. We have his kennel in our bedroom. So when he started the heavy crying, Kevin was about to give up and put him in our bed, but I wanted to stand strong on the kennel thing. So Kevin breaks into a lullaby, making up the words as he goes, "go to sleep, go to sleep, go to sleep little Dexter, go to sleep, go to sleep, before daddy has a breakdown" etc. It worked!! He wouldn't sleep unless Kevin sang to him. And the whole time he's singing, I'm laughing so hard I'm biting through my lip and snorting.

So I guess we created a little music lover from the start. (If Kevin knew I told that story he'd be mortified, but I owe him for the pantsing story!)

·
Registered
8,619 Posts