Labradoodle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
134 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It's really interesting for someone who has never had a dog before. Everyday, Sam has a new action emerging and these actions are not always good. :twisted: Recently, he's taken to really biting and pulling on his leash and jumping up. The other day, he actually growled at me when I told him off. :eek: :shock: I would really appreciate any advice on how to discourage this behaviour.

·
Registered
1,690 Posts
I'm not an expert and I'm not sure of Sam's age but it sounds like he is young and trying to gain some dominance and independence. My instincts are to be very firm and make sure he knows who is the boss. I wouldn't put up with any growly behavior. If he doesn't respond to "no" or a command, you need to physically correct him, ie remove him from the situation, put him in a "sit", etc.

Good luck!
Deb

·
Registered
6,192 Posts
I don't know about the growling. That obviously needs correction.
We have been trying to get Bogie on a leash. We started, as others suggested, to let him walk around and drag it. He of course, chewed on it.

Then, we started to walk with him around the block. He was hestitant and resistant at first. We then started the "treat" thingie. If he didn't want to move forward and was just sitting there, we called him for a treat. We treated him a whole lot for everything he did/does. He's now much better.

They say never to pull the dog to make him walk. I've seen dogs resist so hard they pull themselves out of their collar and run........which can be dangerous!
We're finidng that working slowly and treating him is starting to work!

·
Registered
6,836 Posts
I never had the growling prob with Annabelle, but I would def take immediate control of the situation and let him know it's not allowed

As for walking, I never walked AB with a collar, always a harness, no chance of her backing out of it. I still use a harness when we travel or take her to pets mart.