Labradoodle Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
980 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time using a crate to train a puppy and personally I love it. You don't have to worry about accidents or puppy getting into things he shouldn't when you can't be present or awake to keep an eye on him. Dexter took to his crate training quickly and we use it at night and when we're out.

Just a little mommy bragging here, but Dexter is an unusual puppy to say the least. He doesn't chew bad things like furniture legs or slippers. Only his toys. And he was potty trained in about 2 days time. He's very intelligent and eager to please, and it seems to override his puppy destructive instincts.

So we come in from pool league last night and Kevin decides that Dexter can stay in bed with us for the night. I objected, but was way too tired to complain, so I settled into bed with a wiggly furball. I wake this morning to find that Dex has gotten off the bed and couldn't get back up. So he's sleeping beside the bed. I tentatively go looking for potty mistakes or something chewed or destroyed. Nothing. He goes outside and does his business, he held it all night like he was in his crate.

Kevin's aunt said to use the crate at night and when out for about a year til you can trust puppy. Dex is 4 months old and I think he could probably get through the nights out of the crate, but never when we're gone. What do you all think?

Oh and a cute side note - he's never done this when crated, but Kevin said he was being protective because he was sleeping with mommy. When Kevin came down the hall to bed, he startled Dex and Dex jumped to his feet and snarled and growled and gave a big boy bark, really intimidating. That boy's going to have a voice let me tell ya.

·
Registered
15,203 Posts
HI!! Max is like Dexter doesn't chew things etc and has always slept at the end of our bed since he was 13wks old and he's now 7.5mos.