Labradoodle Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need some advice. Max is now one year's old. He is basically quite a good dog. He obeys my husband and is quite submissive around him. However, when I am alone with Max he jumps (with all four feet off the ground) on me. He barks at me (not aggressively) Sometimes he looks to see if my husband can see him and when all is clear he proceeds to nudge and nidp. He basially will not leave me alone. By the time my husband comes home or returns to the room, I am exhausted and ready for a nap. I don't ever remember owning a dog like this. When we are all together however, Max is a joy.

Help,

Patty

G

·
Hi Patty,
It sounds like Max views you as a playmate! :lol: The only solution is to get another doodle for him to play with.......
JUST KIDDING! :lol:
OK, I am no expert, but it sounds like maybe you need to be a little more assertive with him. Reorder the pack kind of thing--- You need to make sure he knows YOU are the leader, not him. Here is a good article (I know it also mentions aggression/biting, just ignore those parts)
http://sonic.net/~cdlcruz/GPCC/library/alpha.htm
We definitely had some issues with Bella and the trainer was quick to point them out when she came. Some things we have been doing at her request to make things better:
"Sit" before allowing her to eat. We eat first before feeding her (even if we have to pretend we are eating :lol: ). We always go thru doors first. She has learned and obeys the "Off" command which has cured her jumping on people. She has also learned the "wait" command...a huge help! I also have my 6y/o do the commands and feed her, because she definitely views him as a playmate.
If anyone else has some expert advice, please post! I could be completely wrong!

·
Banned
5,918 Posts