Labradoodle Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2,971 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We took Dakota to a dog park for the first time yesterday and again today. He is surprisingly timid--I really, really didn't expect that--he totally harasses my step son's 80 pound rottie. A toy poodle knocked him over yesterday--he is 4 times the poodles size; and today a chihuahua mix was chasing him everywhere until he came to huddle under my legs. Is this the sign of a problem? Also, I so hate to judge breeds, but today a young pit bull was in the park and I was a bit nervous. I don't want to be a bad person, but I want the best environment for Dakota . . . are dog parks safe places and are pit bulls and other potentially aggressive breeds safe to socialize with?
Diane

·
Registered
9,243 Posts
Hi Diane,
I am not an expert on behavior so I won't try to guess about Dakota's reactions to the dog park...but I wouldn't worry too much. He will probably get used to it all and be fine.
I also don't know about ALL Pit Bulls, but my husband's daughter owns two and they are the most sweet and loving dogs around. They frighten me too, because I have heard so much about them...and I know that they are very strong dogs...so if anything DID go wrong, the Pit could cause serious damage...but our dauther's Pits have played with our dogs and are very sweet. Even so, I wouldn't leave them alone. I'll err on the side of caution.
As long as you are near and the dogs don't show any signs of aggression, I'd not be too concerned...but watch him and if you become concerned about any behavior, take what ever steps you feel are necessary for the circumstances.
Our dogs are precious to us, and the thought of them in a fight or getting hurt is horrifying...but they are also good dogs to know how to get along with other dogs too...so unless you have a reason to fear, just let them play and enjoy the exercise. :wink:

·
Registered
2,971 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·