Labradoodle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I have not been on here for ages. But I have a quick question regarding colour: My silver/black F1 came from an all black litter, her mum is cream & her sire is chocolate! Would this mean she'll automatically carry the chocolate gene, or not :?:
She'll be ready for her first litter early next year and I have picked her out a nice chocolate poodle stud for an f1b litter, so I would really value your knowledge on colour genetics beforehand!

Also I know there is a DNA test available, but I'm in the UK and don't know how easy it would be or even if it's necessary! :?

Many thanks, Sarah :wink:

·
Registered
273 Posts
I'm not an expert on genetics but I don't think without testing you will know for sure if you have a chocolate gene. My dog came from a black mom and a Cafe dad. Three of his black/silver siblings were DNA tested and only one puppy of the three carried the color gene for black, creme and brown. (Thus that is the one the breeder kept from the litter as a future dam). The other two only carried black and creme. I know her other female she uses for breeding only carries creme and black not brown.

Can someone confirm that if mom doesn't carry a brown gene then the pups can't be brown? Is it a recessive?

Heather

·
Registered
273 Posts
Okay - I just skimmed a complex article on coloring in dogs and if I have interpretted it correctly it looks like it does take two brown genes to make a brown. If one dog provides a brown gene and the other dog doesn't the puppies will always be black. Thus if your female only carries creme and black you will never get a brown pup.

Can anyone confirm?

Heather

·
Registered
9,243 Posts