Labradoodle Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi again everyone, sorry for all the questions but i am new to this whole puppy thing and am finding it much harder than i imagined even with the mountains of prepatory reading i have done.

I would really like to get little scout to enjoy her own company, and i have been reading that by feeding her all her food via a stuffed chew toy, they become 'chewtoyaholics' and when she gets older it will assist greatly in reducing the destructive tendencies of digging and barking when left alone.

My problem is this. I have stuffed the chewtoys with everything from kibble and freeze dried liver, i've smeared the inside with honey and peanut butter, but she just doesn't really seem that interested.

Does anyone, firstly agree with this method of preparing a puppy for time alone and secondly have any good recipes or ideas for getting her interested in these chew toys?

I'd love to be able to show you a picture of little scout but can't manage to work out how to do it. Sorry.

Thanks for your help in advance.

Thanks[/img]

·
Registered
260 Posts
hi there. i can't remember if you said in another post how old Scout is. when our Kumo was a young puppy, we started out by making his kongs so that they were pretty easy to "un-stuff". that way he didn't have to work very hard to find out that the kongs have yummy food inside. it was like he had to learn what he was supposed to do with them. we gradually made them more and more difficult to empty so that they would keep him busy for longer. we don't feed him all his food this way, though.