Labradoodle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
434 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Poor Calvin. He is sick. Vomiting 4-6 times today and diarrhea throughout the day. I made him some chicken and rice for dinner but he didn't want even a bite. He is drinking o.k, which in the human world is good news. As a nurse, I tend to let my kids bodies work through thier illnesses. I would try to keep them hydrated and let it run it's course. If it continued for more than 2 days I would call their docs. How long do I do this for Calvin? I thought about givng him Pepto, but don't actually have any. Should I buy some? I have to work tomorrow, but can see if he will eat in the morning before I go to work and should be home by 4. If he doea not eat breakfast, should I call the vet?

Thanks for your advice.. As an E.R. nurse, I feel like I know alot about how to "fix" humans when they are sick, but my dog is a different matter altogether....

Leslie

UPDATE!!!
Well, I called my vet from work-who wasn't actually in right then-but I left a message to call me back. I left work early today, but did not get a call before I left. I consulted several dog-savvy co-workers and they said to wait and see. I came home to a FILTHY, SOAKING WET pair of doodles. (It has been raining here for weeks). I brought them in and offered them a treat and they both took it enthusiatically!!! Then they decided to do a doodle 500 in the living room. (my carpet is trashed! :x ). So, I think he feels better. I will keep a close watch in him tonight and continue to feed him small meals of chicken and rice. My vets office said I could always drop him off on my way to work if I needed to.

Thanks for all your advice and well wishes. You really are the best group of complete strangers I have ever met.... :D

Leslie

·
Registered
560 Posts