Labradoodle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a standard poodle breeder and have been approached by several people about breeding a litter of Labradoodles. Does anyone ever breed standard poodle females to a Lab male? I was wondering about the size difference. The Lab male would be bigger than my female. I am really new to the idea of breeding a litter of Labradoodles.
Thanks so much for any help.

·
Registered
462 Posts
Most of the time, its a male poodle and a female lab. However, its not unheard of to be the other way around. I believe someone made the rationalization that because the pups could be bigger than what the poodle was used to, it's easier for the lab to have the pups than the poodle- or safer. But, I'm not a breeder. Good luck with your research.

·
Registered
2,005 Posts
Not a breede4r yet but i have 2 F1 doodles. One has a Lab mom (Hershey)and the other has a poodle mom (Gustopher). I thought it was rare to have the poodle as the mom, but genetically it doesnt really matter. Gus' breeder prefered to have poodles rather than labs in thier house.

·
Registered
2,408 Posts
Maureen addressed this last week in another thread:

There is NO difference in using Labs vs Poodles, for sire/dam.
My Sheba is a 45lb 24" Std. POodle, and she gives us 12 healthy babies almost every time!

My personal theory is that Lab breeders could switch/do both Labs and Doodles by keeping females and just buying a male poodle, but that's just an observation or theory.

My vet said that the size of the sire has no bearing on the size or ability of a female to deliver. He was a vet for a horse breeder and cited studies they've done with horses. But that's what he said, if it helps.
http://labradoodle-dogs.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=6369&highlight=

·
Registered
2,506 Posts