Labradoodle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone ...

I am wondering at what age you all had your dogs neutered? Dan is 5 months old yesterday, and I've heard mixed things about whether to wait until 6 months or not. I'm a teacher heading back to work very soon though, so I'd rather have the procedure done now when I can spend more time with him during recovery. Also, did you notice any changes in behavior / personality after neutering?? I'm feeling very apprehensive about this whole thing!! :?

·
Registered
2,740 Posts
For a male

the closer to 6mths the better, or even up to 8mths
if testicles havent dropped then wait
do you have a contract that states he must be nuetured by a certain date? if so go by the breeders recommendation

·
Registered
333 Posts
I was wondering the same thing about spaying. I guess I will just go with whatever the vet recommends. I have always heard that neutering does calm down male dogs but does spaying have the same effect of females?

·
Registered
2,929 Posts
Tanner was neutered at 5 months. He did very well. The procedure was done with laser surgery and he recovered very quickly...two days and he was back to normal but had to be kept quiet for 1 week (we tried). The only difference I noticed was that after a month no more trying to hump everyone (it actually got worse for about a month then no more) :lol: :lol:

·
Registered
2,740 Posts
yes sometimes

maturity is actually what helps the most, pups will be pups,,LOL

Didnt your breeders have you sign spay/nueture contracts that the pups had to be altrered by a certain age or date?

ohh and after the surgury they tend to gain weight so careful on that one
dont want a overweight dog you will have issues later

·
Registered
50 Posts
We had Dexter neutered at 5 months and he was perfectly fine. He didn't seem to notice anything was different. :wink:

·
Registered
8,336 Posts
We neutered Denver at 8 months closer to nine