Labradoodle Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
9,243 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Some of you know that in CA, "our" representatives have already passed in the House, and are voting in the Senate, a Bill that will put most of the small, reputable breeders out of business in California.
Here is the Bill: http://info.sen.ca.gov/cgi-bin/postquery
I am posting my letter to my local representatives. Please feel free to use any part of this letter, if you desire to write on your own behalf.
(This is long, sorry!)

Honorable Senator Wiggins,

I am a resident of Mendocino County and I am writing to strongly oppose passage of AB 1634.

I wish to be clear that I am not opposed to the intent of this Bill. I agree that too many domestic animals are being neglected, abused, placed in shelters and euthanized.

My opposition of AB 1634 derives from experience as a responsible dog breeder who routinely donates puppies to the Guide Dogs of America and to individuals with special needs. Passage of AB 1634 into law will, effectively put me (and others like me) out of business.

One of the main problems with AB 1634 is that fails to place responsibility for animals directly on the shoulders of those who produce them (the breeders), and those who provide a market for them (the sellers and the owners.) This Bill does nothing to enhance the plight of animals. It merely creates a biased basis for assessing fees to support euthanasia and cover costs of housing of "disposable" animals.

We already have good laws aimed at identification and regulation of breeders. Still, the overpopulation exists. What needs to happen now is a tightening of the regulations to include owners and sellers of domestic animals.