Labradoodle Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,433 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been lurking for a long time and put in my first post about a week ago. I am a real newbie so maybe this question is tacky and I hope I do not offend. And it may certainly be one that breeders would not want to answer and I understand why.

But I am gonna ask it anyway!! :D LOL

My husband and I had not wanted to buy a puppy. We really wanted to get a dog in the 18-24 month range. We wanted one that was housebroken and socialized well. But that seems to be an impossible find. And we really wanted a rescue dog that we could pay a few hundred dollars for and feel great about saving her. But hubby has allergies and we have been to a few shelters and we have found that the type of dogs we always love are the ones he is allergic to! (Medium, fluffy coated ones) So, we did our research and found the wonderful Labradoodle!! But the cost is prohibitive (please don't anyone take offense at that. I am aware of all you guys do and how much work it is. But for us, it is a lot of money, not that they are not WORTH a lot of money or that breeders don't deserve every penny).

So, I read that sometimes pups don't sell for one reason or another. I have seen pups 4-6 months old and older on some sites but the price is still as high as a new pup.

So, what I was wondering was this....Do breeders normally lower their prices on the older pups? And would it be considered rude to just email a breeder and ask?

Well, I sincerely hope I have not offended anyone or asked something that is gauche! :oops:

Thanks for you time!

G

·
Hi:

Maya was one of the last ones left in her litter. I couldn't afford to spend that much on a dog either. I spoke with the breeder and I did get Maya for a discounted price. I got Maya when she was 3.5 mos old. My motto it never hurts to ask!!! Worse thing to happen is they will say no!

·
Registered
15,203 Posts